Every word counts

What's on

Search by region or date...

View print-friendly page

Date Title
February
Mon 24 Feb 2020, 7:30pm Shirley Valentine

Octagon Bolton

Mon 24 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The Welkin

National Theatre, London

Tue 25 Feb 2020, 8:00pm Death of England

National Theatre, London

Wed 26 Feb 2020, 10:00am Talk We Make Tomorrow Summit

Royal Geographical Society, London

Wed 26 Feb 2020, 2:30pm Blithe Spirit

Norwich Theatre Royal , Norwich, Norfolk

Wed 26 Feb 2020, 6:30pm Talk You and the Planet: Biodiversity

Eden Project, Par , Cornwall

Wed 26 Feb 2020, 7:30pm Uncle Vanya

Harold Pinter Theatre, London

Wed 26 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The Welkin

National Theatre, London

Thu 27 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The High Table

Bush Theatre, London

Thu 27 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The Haystack

Hampstead Theatre, London

Fri 28 Feb 2020, 7:15pm Talk A Little History of Gay Life at Sea

Queen's House, London

Fri 28 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The Sound of Music

Alhambra Theatre (Bradford Theatres)

Fri 28 Feb 2020, 7:30pm The King and I (Tour)

Milton Keynes Theatre, Central Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Fri 28 Feb 2020, 8:20pm Talk A post-Brexit queer rebuff to the Queen in a ruff, with Bird La Bird

Queen's House, London

Sat 29 Feb 2020, 1:30pm As You Like it

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

March
Sun 1 Mar 2020, 2:00pm Talk Jewish Book Week: Learning from the Germans with Susan Neiman (sold out)

Kings Place (Hall 2), London

Sun 1 Mar 2020, 6:30pm Talk Jewish Book Week: We Fight Fascists with Daniel Sonabend and Michael Rosen

Kings Place (Hall 1), London

Tue 3 Mar 2020, 6:30pm Talk Royal College of Nursing Public Debate

Pendulum Hotel, Manchester

Tue 3 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Only Fools and Horses

Theatre Royal Haymarket, London

Wed 4 Mar 2020, 7:00pm The Visit

National Theatre, London

Wed 4 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Witness for the Prosecution

London County Hall, London

Thu 5 Mar 2020, 1:30pm The Taming of the Shrew

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Thu 5 Mar 2020, 3:00pm Death of England

National Theatre, London

Thu 5 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Everybody's Talking About Jamie

Apollo Theatre, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 10:30am Talk WOW Festival 2020 Opening Session

Royal Festival Hall, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 12:00pm Talk WOW 2020: Badass Women from History

Southbank Centre, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 1:45pm Talk WOW 2020: Successes of the Lionesses

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 3:30pm Talk WOW 2020: Panel Discussion Damned if you do and Damned if you don't

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Talk Hilary Mantel: The Mirror and the Light

Royal Festival Hall, London

Fri 6 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Alhambra Theatre (Bradford Theatres)

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 10:30am Talk WOW 2020: WOW Saturday Opening Session

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 12:00pm Talk WOW 2020: #ThisIs18

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 1:30pm Measure for Measure

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 1:45pm Talk WOW 2020: Queer Intentions

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 2:00pm The Glee Club

Cast Theatre, Doncaster

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 3:00pm Death of England

National Theatre, London

Sat 7 Mar 2020, 7:45pm The Last Of The Pelican Daughters

Royal & Deangate, Northampton

Sun 8 Mar 2020, 11:00am Talk WOW 2020: Sunday's Papers WOW's Sweep Through The Decades - discussion

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sun 8 Mar 2020, 1:30pm Talk WOW 2020: WOW Big Sing Workshop

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sun 8 Mar 2020, 2:30pm Talk WOW 2020: We Are Family

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Sun 8 Mar 2020, 3:30pm Talk WOW 2020: 10th Birthday Party

Royal Festival Hall - Clore Ballroom, London

Tue 10 Mar 2020, 5:30pm Talk Black nurses in Britain before Windrush

Royal College of Nursing, London

Tue 10 Mar 2020, 6:30pm Talk Royal Society - Bakerian Lecture 2020

Royal Society, London

Tue 10 Mar 2020, 7:30pm La Cage aux Folles

Park Theatre, London

Wed 11 Mar 2020, 1:00pm The Visit

National Theatre, London

Wed 11 Mar 2020, 3:30pm Talk DNA, Diversity and Difference

Wellcome Collection

Wed 11 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Talk Conversations with Roddy Doyle

Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Wed 11 Mar 2020, 7:30pm The Taming of the Shrew

Shakespeare's Globe (Sam Wanamaker Playhouse), London

Thu 12 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Pass Over

Kiln Theatre, London

Mon 16 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Far Away

Donmar Warehouse, London

Tue 17 Mar 2020, 7:00pm Opera North: Street Scene

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Tue 17 Mar 2020, 7:30pm LEOPOLDSTADT (sold out)

Wyndham's Theatre, London

Tue 17 Mar 2020, 7:30pm The Phantom Of The Opera

Curve, Leicester

Wed 18 Mar 2020, 1:00pm Talk Flying Robots

Wellcome Collection, London

Wed 18 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Dial M for Murder

Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Wed 18 Mar 2020, 7:45pm Run Sister Run

Sheffield Theatres, Sheffield

Thu 19 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Sunderland Empire, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Fri 20 Mar 2020, 7:15pm Coriolanus

Sheffield Theatres, Sheffield

Fri 20 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Wicked

Apollo Victoria Theatre, London

Sat 21 Mar 2020, 12:00pm Talk Artist Talk: Power

Tate Exchange, London

Sat 21 Mar 2020, 2:30pm MAMMA MIA!

Hull New Theatre, Hull

Sat 21 Mar 2020, 2:30pm Rockets and Blue Lights

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Sat 21 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Rockets and Blue Lights

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Sun 22 Mar 2020, 3:00pm The Seven Streams of the River

National Theatre, London

Mon 23 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Mary Poppins (sold out)

Prince Edward Theatre, London

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Talk Hudd Lit Fest 2020 - One Enchanted Evening with Anton Du Beke

Huddersfield Town Hall

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 7:30pm The Lion King

Lyceum Theatre, London

Wed 25 Mar 2020, 7:30pm The Mikvah Project

Orange Tree Theatre, Surrey

Wed 25 Mar 2020, 7:30pm The Glee Club

Lichfield Garrick , Lichfield

Thu 26 Mar 2020, 2:30pm Les Miserables (tour)

Norwich Theatre Royal , Norwich, Norfolk

Thu 26 Mar 2020, 6:30pm Talk Choked. Life and breath in the age of air pollution

The British Academy, London

Thu 26 Mar 2020, 7:30pm TWO

Hull Truck Theatre, Hull

Thu 26 Mar 2020, 7:30pm Talking Heads

Watford Palace Theatre, Watford

Thu 26 Mar 2020, 8:00pm Six (Tour)

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Fri 27 Mar 2020, 1:00pm Talk A Shared Taste in the Decorative Arts: George IV and the 3rd Marquess of Hertford as Collectors

The Wallace Collection, London

Fri 27 Mar 2020, 7:00pm Talk Hudd Lit Fest 2020 - Val McDermid

Oastler Building, Huddersfield

Sat 28 Mar 2020, 1:00pm The Visit

National Theatre, London

Sat 28 Mar 2020, 2:15pm I Think We Are Alone

Curve, Leicester

Sat 28 Mar 2020, 2:30pm MAMMA MIA!

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Sat 28 Mar 2020, 2:30pm A Monster Calls

Cambridge Arts Theatre, Cambridge

Sat 28 Mar 2020, 2:30pm We Will Rock You (Tour)

Milton Keynes Theatre, Central Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Mon 30 Mar 2020, 7:00pm The Visit

National Theatre, London

April
Thu 2 Apr 2020, 7:30pm The Glee Club

Harrogate Theatre, Harrogate

Mon 6 Apr 2020, 7:45pm It’s True, It’s True, It’s True

Barbican Centre, London

Mon 6 Apr 2020, 9:30pm Talk It’s True, It’s True, It’s True: Post-Show Talk

Barbican Centre, London

Tue 7 Apr 2020, 2:00pm Hamlet

National Theatre, London

Wed 8 Apr 2020, 7:30pm Talk David Wallace-Wells: The Uninhabitable Earth

Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Wed 8 Apr 2020, 7:30pm Blithe Spirit

Duke of York's Theatre, London

Fri 10 Apr 2020, 7:30pm What's In A Name?

Alhambra Theatre (Bradford Theatres)

Tue 14 Apr 2020, 7:30pm The Dumb Waiter

Hampstead Theatre, London

Wed 15 Apr 2020, 7:45pm The Glee Club

Cambridge Arts Theatre, Cambridge

Fri 17 Apr 2020, 7:30pm Women Beware Women

Shakespeare's Globe (Sam Wanamaker Playhouse), London

Wed 22 Apr 2020, 7:45pm Never Not Once

Park Theatre, London

Thu 23 Apr 2020, 2:30pm A Monster Calls

Norwich Theatre Royal , Norwich, Norfolk

Thu 23 Apr 2020, 7:30pm Everybody's Talking About Jamie (Tour)

Nottingham Theatre Royal, Nottingham

Sat 25 Apr 2020, 3:00pm The Glee Club

Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds

Tue 28 Apr 2020, 7:30pm On Blueberry Hill

Trafalgar Studios, London

Tue 28 Apr 2020, 7:30pm Sister Act

Curve, Leicester

Wed 29 Apr 2020, 6:30pm Talk Kavli Prize Lecture

Royal Society, London

Wed 29 Apr 2020, 7:30pm All of Us

National Theatre, London

May
Tue 5 May 2020, 2:15pm Manor

National Theatre, London

Thu 7 May 2020, 7:30pm Back To The Future

Manchester Opera House

Thu 7 May 2020, 7:45pm The Glee Club

Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford, Surrey

Fri 8 May 2020, 7:45pm The Still Room

Park Theatre, London

Sat 9 May 2020, 2:30pm West Side Story

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Sat 9 May 2020, 2:30pm Phantom of the Opera

Her Majesty's Theatre, London

Sat 9 May 2020, 7:30pm West Side Story

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Tue 12 May 2020, 3:00pm All of Us

National Theatre, London

Wed 13 May 2020, 7:30pm Manor

National Theatre, London

Thu 14 May 2020, 7:30pm Level Up

Bush Theatre, London

Mon 18 May 2020, 7:30pm In The Blood

Donmar Warehouse, London

Tue 19 May 2020, 7:30pm The Two Character Play

Hampstead Theatre, London

Tue 19 May 2020, 7:30pm The Seagull

The Playhouse Theatre, London

Thu 21 May 2020, 7:30pm A Museum in Baghdad

Kiln Theatre, London

Sat 23 May 2020, 2:00pm Jack Absolute Flies Again

National Theatre, London

Sat 23 May 2020, 2:30pm Pretty Woman

Piccadilly Theatre, London

Wed 27 May 2020, 6:30pm Talk Ferrier Prize Lecture

Royal Society, London

Thu 28 May 2020, 7:30pm A Place For We

Park Theatre, London

Sat 30 May 2020, 2:15pm A Monster Calls

Curve, Leicester

June
Tue 2 Jun 2020, 7:45pm Wuthering Heights

Royal & Deangate, Northampton

Thu 4 Jun 2020, 2:30pm We Will Rock You (Tour)

Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Thu 4 Jun 2020, 7:30pm Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham

Sat 6 Jun 2020, 2:15pm Manor

National Theatre, London

Thu 11 Jun 2020, 7:30pm The Lion King

Alhambra Theatre (Bradford Theatres)

Tue 16 Jun 2020, 7:30pm Jack Absolute Flies Again

National Theatre, London

Wed 17 Jun 2020, 7:30pm Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em

Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury

Wed 17 Jun 2020, 7:45pm Burkas and Bacon Butties

Park Theatre, London

Thu 18 Jun 2020, 7:30pm The Glee Club

Kiln Theatre, London

Sat 20 Jun 2020, 2:30pm The Glass Menagerie

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Sat 20 Jun 2020, 7:30pm The Glass Menagerie

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Tue 23 Jun 2020, 7:30pm The Death of A Black Man

Hampstead Theatre, London

Sun 28 Jun 2020, 1:00pm Romeo and Juliet

Shakespeare's Globe, London

July
Thu 2 Jul 2020, 7:30pm Sister Act (Tour)

Manchester Palace Theatre, Manchester

Fri 3 Jul 2020, 7:24pm Here’s What She Said To Me

Sheffield Theatres, Sheffield

Fri 3 Jul 2020, 7:30pm Drowntown

Barbican Centre, London

Sat 11 Jul 2020, 2:00pm Twelfth Night

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Sat 11 Jul 2020, 2:30pm Oscar and the Pink Lady

Sheffield Theatres, Sheffield

Sat 11 Jul 2020, 7:30pm A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Hull Truck Theatre, Hull

Mon 13 Jul 2020, 7:00pm Assembly

Donmar Warehouse, London

Sat 18 Jul 2020, 2:30pm The Contingency Plan (Part One)

Donmar Warehouse, London

Sat 18 Jul 2020, 7:30pm The Contingency Plan (Part Two)

Donmar Warehouse, London

Sun 19 Jul 2020, 2:30pm Six (Tour)

Norwich Theatre Royal , Norwich, Norfolk

Mon 20 Jul 2020, 7:30pm Sunday In The Park With George

Savoy Theatre, London

Sat 25 Jul 2020, 2:30pm Let The Right One In

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Sat 25 Jul 2020, 7:30pm Let The Right One In

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

Tue 28 Jul 2020, 7:30pm 'night, Mother

Hampstead Theatre, London

August
Tue 4 Aug 2020, 7:30pm Evita

Barbican Centre, London

Sat 22 Aug 2020, 7:30pm Antony & Cleopatra

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Thu 27 Aug 2020, 7:30pm Antony & Cleopatra

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Sat 29 Aug 2020, 2:30pm Fame (Alexandra)

New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham

September
Wed 9 Sep 2020, 7:30pm Life of Pi

Wyndham's Theatre, London

Fri 11 Sep 2020, 7:30pm Much Ado About Nothing

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Mon 14 Sep 2020, 7:30pm Force Majeure

Donmar Warehouse, London

Tue 15 Sep 2020, 7:30pm MAMMA MIA!

Sunderland Empire, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Wed 16 Sep 2020, 7:30pm The Tempest

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Fri 18 Sep 2020, 7:30pm A Midsummer Night's Dream

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Sun 20 Sep 2020, 1:00pm As You Like It

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Wed 23 Sep 2020, 7:30pm Twelfth Night

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Tue 29 Sep 2020, 7:30pm Much Ado About Nothing

Shakespeare's Globe, London

October
Fri 2 Oct 2020, 7:30pm Ovid's Metamorphoses

Shakespeare's Globe, London

Tue 27 Oct 2020, 7:30pm Good

The Playhouse Theatre, London

December
Tue 1 Dec 2020, 7:30pm Phantom of the Opera (Tour)

Sunderland Empire, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Mon 21 Dec 2020, 7:00pm Dick Whittington

Royal & Deangate, Northampton

Wed 30 Dec 2020, 2:00pm Snow White

Sunderland Empire, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear

Wed 30 Dec 2020, 2:00pm The Railway Children

Hull Truck Theatre, Hull

January 2021
Tue 5 Jan 2021, 7:30pm A Christmas Carol

Alexandra Palace, London, London

The Arts Council
The Arts Council
The Arts Council